Skip to content

quem disse que os adolescentes não lêem e se apaixonam?

February 27, 2008

“Gatsby’s Green Light Beckons a New Set of Strivers” é uma reportagem deliciosa da jornalista Sara Rimer do New York Times. “O Grande Gatsby” de Scott Fitzgerald é uma fonte de inspiração para todos os alunos, especialmente para os adolescentes, da primeira e segunda geração de imigrantes, que ainda procuram o “american dream”.

“One reason students appreciate the book is that there is a level of honesty that they value. They need these honest stories to perhaps balance what is otherwise presented as this shining possibility for everyone.”

Jinzhao’s teacher, Meredith Elliott, and other teachers at Boston Latin and other urban schools, say their students see in “Gatsby” glimmers of their own evolving identities and dreams. The students talk about the youthful characters — Gatsby; Daisy Buchanan, the married woman he loves; Tom, Daisy’s husband and a onetime Yale football star; and the narrator, Nick Carraway — as if they were classmates or celebrities.

O livro tem um grande impacto junto dos adolescentes que retiram diferentes lições da vida e morte da personagem. Perto da Universidade do Minho há um café/tasca que se chama Gatsby e não há vez que eu não passe por lá e não me lembre que tenho de o ler. Ou então, na série “Sem Rasto”, que costuma passar no AXN, um dos agentes chama-se Fitzgerald, o que me leva novamente ao livro. Gatsby persegue-me e eu sei lá bem porquê ainda não o li.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

